On Hearing God…

“Dear God, Please help Katie’s cough go away and help her to stop coughing so she can feel better.  Because she’s my sister and I love her,” Annie prayed tonight at bedtime when she heard Katie coughing.

After giving her some honey and cinnamon, I told Katie that Annie had just prayed for her.  “I know.  I heard her,” Katie smiled.

I went back to tuck Annie in and found her reading her Bible.  It was the first time I’d seen her reading it on her own and I commented that it was great to see her reading it.

“Yeah, I felt like God told me to read it,” Annie said.  “Like He said, Annie, pick up your Bible and read it.”

“That’s neat! Just like with Samuel when he heard God calling his name,” I smiled.

“Yeah.  I didn’t hear Him say it outloud in my room, but I heard Him say it in my head,” Annie replied.

“That’s great that you listened to Him,” I told her. “I’m sure God’s smiling right now.”

I know I was.  And still am.

“Let the little children come to Me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.” — Matthew 19:14


Leave a Reply

