Reality

I don’t usually post serious stuff on this blog, but I had a dream last week that keeps haunting me.  It was a dream so disturbingly real that it jolted me awake.

My husband and I, along with a group of our friends, were targets of terrorism.  Masked men somehow took control of our group and threatened us with guns.  The feeling of helplessness grew as I realized that we were in grave danger.  Inside my head, I was screaming for someone to do something.  Yet there was a fearful knowing among us that any intervention we attempted would be in vain.

The masked men eventually made us get down on our knees.  With increasing dread, I knew what was coming next.  There were others around, but they were merely spectators who didn’t even try to intervene.  Terror and disbelief filled my heart as I witnessed the execution of the first person in our group.

Then I woke up.

The dream seemed so real.  Too real.  

One might say that my dream manifested from concern about current world events, particularly concerning ISIS. But the thing is, I’m not usually one to dwell on negative things happening around the world.   Perhaps out of selfishness, I even try to avoid the news because it can be depressing.

I did realize that the terrorism committed by ISIS is horrifyingly real, though I chose not to watch any of the circulating videos about the beheadings. The actions of ISIS were just something I couldn’t fully grasp or fathom.

Until my dream.  

Because of my dream, I feel like I experienced a taste of the terror that victims feel and the grief that engulfs their friends and family.  Though I hated my dream, it has awakened me to the urgency to pray for victims of terrorism worldwide–and for strength and comfort for their mourning friends and families.

“Pray in the Spirit at all times and on every occasion. Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers for all believers everywhere.”  Ephesians 6:8

4 thoughts on “Reality

  1. Oooh. I’ve had dreams that have felt very real before as well, but gosh, this was one you had is just awful! 😦 It sounds like maybe God gave it to you, so that you could pray and encourage others to do the same. I’m just like you-I never watch the news, though I do hear the reports of world events such as ISIS. Wow. I’m encouraged to pray now too. Thanks for sharing. Now I have to go catch up on all of your other posts. (I’ve been avoiding FB a bit, because it also depresses me. LOL!)

    1. Yeah those types of dreams are unsettling–but a good way to be prayerfully mindful of pressing issues! (I learn all my news on FB, so yes I understand what you mean by avoiding depression!!)

  2. Oh! 😦 hope hubby hugged you real good…. I’ve imagined what it may be to face martyrdom, but never had such a sample, and worse, to remember or relive it… May we be faithful to lift them in prayer, and to encourage one another that such an end for those who belong to Christ is only the beginning of a much better experience

Leave a Reply

