Thistleberry Farm (And How Corn Got in the Can)

The other day, a friend and I took our kids to Thistleberry Farm, an event that resulted in a rather amusing ending–but more on that later.

My girls and I’d never been there before so we were looking forward to exploring the place that had many good reviews.

 

Annie with her good friend (and farmer husband) Cloey:

Image

 

Farmer Katie with her long-time friend Bella (who ironically is anti-pink):

Image

 

And now for the cute farmer’s wife Kellie and the handsome farmer (yours truly):

Image

 

 

Thistleberry Farm didn’t disappoint.

There were lots of fun things to do there–and here’s some proof…

The girls jumping on some kind of giant pad–“soft but firmer than a bounce house,” according to Katie:

Image

 

 

Cow Train Ride with some cute cow girls:

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

 

Rock Climbing:

Image

 

(I won’t mention that I see London, I see France, I see Annie’s….)

 

Image

 

Riding some fun custom-made go-carts:

Image

 

Image

 

Sliding down a super slide (love the colorful tires!):

Image

 

Tackling (and surviving) a Corn Maze:

Image

 

(We had the option of doing an hour-and-half long maze or a 15-20 minute Storybook maze.  We opted for the latter.  Kellie had the brilliant idea to split up and have a race.  So split up we did–she took the younger two and I took the older pair.  Then I had the brilliant idea of taking a short cut and cutting across some corn that wasn’t part of the maze.  Katie, Bella, and I kept walking… and walking.  We came across some clues that were NOT part of our Storybook maze.  Crap.  As the realization sunk in, I told the girls (rather fearfully I’m afraid), “We crossed over into a DIFFERENT maze–the HOUR AND HALF LONG maze!!”  

If you know me, you know I didn’t inherit my dad’s awesome sense of direction.  And I don’t like closed-in spaces.  And, while we’re at it, I may as well admit that I’m not really a fan of mazes. 

The girls looked at me with wide eyes as I tried (emphasis on TRIED) to remain calm.  “I hear noises coming from that direction!” Bella offered.  “Yeah, I think we should go that way!” Katie said.  

I looked at my pair of hearing, human walking GPS’s with renewed hope.  “Let’s go then!” I told them.

Image

I grabbed my phone to text Kellie that we may be a while.  She’d send me a text that read, “Done!!”    

“Show-off,” I wrote back.

Then I texted that we were pretty much lost and trying to find our way back.

The girls suggested that we cut through some corn and follow the noises back to the farm.  So we clawed our way through the thick corn while I tried not to think of creepy crawlies lurking in the corn.

Then we stumbled out of the corn into an open space and beheld a beautiful sight–the younger two with Kellie (never mind the fact that they were the winners).

Thank God!  I was afraid we’d be stuck in the maze until dusk–and beyond.

 

Then it was on to some more corn–but not in the form of a maze:

Image

 

The girls LOVED the corn pit!

Image

 

Image

 

Image

(And the corn loved the girls too–but more on that later.)

LOVE these girls and the friendships they have!

Image

 

Image

 

The sun was setting and it was almost time to go, but not before we saw this:

Image

 

 

(Yes, that is a goat attempting to walk off into the sunset.)

We stopped to look around in the pumpkin pickle patch before leaving:

Image

 

Cloey laying an orange egg:

Image

 

Annie with the world’s largest pumpkin:

Image

 

 

 

Image

 

 

 

 

Yep, it was a fun-filled day at Thistleberry Farm with the lil super heroes:

Image

 

(How do you like the Hulk’s pink bow?)

 

We stopped for dinner on the way home.  I took Annie to the restroom and when she got up off the toilet, guess what we saw?

Image

Yep.  

A corn kernel.

And that’s how Corn Got in the Can, folks.

 

One thought on “Thistleberry Farm (And How Corn Got in the Can)

Leave a Reply

