Shattered Glass

We sat on the bench swing underneath our deck,

swinging in the cool summer evening.

Annie and I, enjoying some cuddling and chatting time.

She held a small glass of water as she finished drinking it.

Pretending to drop it onto the concrete driveway underneath us, Annie grinned as she held her glass out and then brought it back.

“Oh, you don’t want to do that.  Shattered glass isn’t fun to clean up,” I teased her.

She nodded in agreement, then I added that we had only four of those glasses.

“So if that one broke, how many would we have left?”

(Yep, gotta throw in a math lesson when you can!)

“One!” she answered teasingly. “Three,” she said again.

We joked about how if we had only three glasses, then one of us in our family of four wouldn’t be able to drink.

Then Annie set the glass down next to her, on the swing.

Before either of us could intervene, it rolled right off the swing, shattering as it hit the concrete.

Annie immediately started crying.

As I bit my lip to keep from laughing (it’s a family curse, passed down from at least three generations), I told Annie that I knew it was an accident.

She continued to cry.

She’s the sensitive soul in our family.

(God must have known we needed one.)

I got a broom and shovel from the garage and walked back over to the bench where Annie sat, still upset.

“It’s fine, Annie.  It’s just a glass.  It’s the not the first time it’s happened.  I think I’ve broken probably five glasses,” I tried to reassure her.

I swept up the broken glass as Annie held the shovel.

“There.  All cleaned up.”

Annie was still upset.

“I’m sorry I broke the glass!” she sobbed.

I scooped her up into a hug and tried to reassure her that all was forgiven.

“It’s my first broken glass!” Annie cried.

 Interesting.

She wasn’t necessarily upset about the glass being broken, but at the fact that her record of having no broken glasses was… well, broken.

Isn’t that what gets us most upset in life?  

Not necessarily the spilled milk, but the fact that we were the ones to spill it.

Sometimes we are our own worst enemy when it comes to receiving forgiveness.

“Annie, I love you and remember this–God loves you too and is always ready to forgive whatever mistakes we make, when we ask Him to.”

Annie nodded and (finally) smiled.

 Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of Grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.  Hebrews 4:16

large

 

Leave a Reply

